Monroe Historical Society Sets Board for 2012

--Welcomes back Anna Hale & newcomer Leslie Sumner

The Monroe Historical Society has elected its Board of Directors for 2012 and is very pleased to announce the return of Anna Hale to active status as Special Events Chair. Anna has a long history with the Society, including being one of the founding members in 1967. A 50+ year Monroe resident, Anna who is on City Council and recently served 2 years as the only female Vice-Mayor, is also active with the Garden Club & Presbyterian Church.

The Society also welcomes newcomer Leslie Sumner as Director-at-Large. She & her husband John have been residents of Monroe for 11 years & both their children attend Monroe Schools. Leslie was a Board member & volunteer for the Monroe Lending Library since its formation in 2005. She is also growing a small cheesecake and bakery business, SumnerSweets, with her daughter.

At the December membership meeting, the following were elected to the Board: Norman Hayes - President; Jane Majors - Vice-President/Programs; Jessie Hull - Secretary; Susan Wise - Correspondence Secretary/Publicity; Elaine Garver - Treasurer; Chie Yoshimura – Memberships & Assistant Treasurer; Dorothy Smith - Curator/Historian; Mary Maurer – Director; Jim Price – Director; Marc Rubin – Director. Auxiliary: Leslie Sumner – Director at Large; Glen Majors – Cabin Director; Pat Hayes – Office Manager; Anna Hale – Special Events Chair; Elaine Kuth – Exhibit Chair & Nancy Bolton – Exhibit Assistant.

2012 Memberships are now available, starting at $10. Forms can be found on their website or by calling 539-2270 or email at The Society is involved in several events each year, such as Apple Butter & Civil War Days, and hosts four General Membership meetings with special guest speakers, including a Christmas program.

Your rating: None