On March 28, 2009, Wilmington College once again served as the host for the Ohio District 17 Science Day. This was Wilmington’s fifth year of hosting this prestigious event. Participants included ninety-three high school and middle school students primarily from Clinton, Fayette, Highland, and Brown Counties who had received superiors at their local science fairs in order to qualify for the District Science Day. On Saturday, March 28th, these students converged on Wilmington College where they displayed their research projects. Dr. Russell Kincaid, the Science Day coordinator was pleased with the quality of the projects and the turnout for the event. “District Science Day is a wonderful opportunity to encourage middle and high school students throughout the district to expand their education by gaining a better understanding of science in a fun and productive way. The students we hosted are the intellectual leaders of tomorrow, and this event gives them an opportunity to demonstrate their existing abilities and perfect their skills,” said Dr. Kincaid. “Their effort and the dedication of the teachers and parents who guide them is a welcome, bright, light at a time of uncertainty and economic distress in our communities.” The students presented research on project which covered a wide range of topics including agriculture, biotechnology, energy, environmental sciences, information science and technology, botany, and material science, among others. Students represented ten schools within Ohio’s 17th District including Blanchester High School, Easter Junior High School, Fairfield Local Middle School, Fayetteville-Perry Middle and High Schools, Georgetown Junior and Senior High Schools, Hamersville Middle School, Lynchburg-Clay High School, Mt. Orab Middle School, Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington Junior and Senior High Schools, and Wilmington Middle School. In addition, students from Mason Middle School, Monroe Junior High School, in Ohio’s 11th District were also invited after they were unable to attend District 11 Science Day. Arrangements for students from Monroe Junior High to attend the event were made by their science teacher Diane Blose-Ivory. Monroe students included Abbie Fierman, Adam Forkner, Matthew Thorpe, Christina Valdez, Jeremiah Vires, and Shelby Wright. Abbie Fierman and Shelby Wright qualified to go on to the state competition in May. Special awards were given which included scholarships and cash prizes. Scholarships toward the College of Wooster’s B-Wiser Summer Science Camp were awarded to Faraah Bekheet, Magdelenah Crawford and Ryan Elizabeth Miller of Wilmington Middle School and Amulya Joseph of Mason Middle School for having the highest rated projects among 7th grade girls. The Ohio Soybean Council awarded a cash prize to Josh Prine of Hamersville Middle School for his project which used soybeans as a source for bio-diesel fuel. The Southwest Ohio Water Environment Association Committee awarded cash prizes to two individuals and one team judged to have the best environmental projects. Laura Lance of Blanchester received first place, while Karissa Hamblen of Georgetown received second place, and the team of Caleb Flower and Quentin Williams of Fairfield Middle School received third place. Support for the district science fair was provided by a number of businesses both in and out of the 17th District. These include Generations Pizza, Beaugards BBQ, The Mediterranean Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Donato’s Pizza, Damon’s Bar and Grill, Domino’s Pizza, and Papa John’s Pizza in Wilmington; Dakota’s Roadhouse and Prime Cut Restaurant and Lounge, in Hillsboro; Our Place Restaurant in Washington C.H.; Maggiano’s Little Italy Italian Restaurant in Cincinnati, and Chakeres Movie Theatres, Frisch’s Big Boy Restaurants, and Bob Evans Restaurants. Facilities were provided by Wilmington College. Dr. Douglas Burks and Dr. Donald Troike, both professors of Biology at Wilmington College, provided invaluable assistance in coordination of judges and scoring and prize determination. Numerous judges, including Wilmington College faculty, students, and members of the community, graciously gave of their time to make this event possible. In addition, Melo-Dee Frederick, Debra Stewart, Alicia Jacquemin, Tess Barnett and Svetlana Kazakova-Kincaid provided logistical support and on-site coordination for the event. The time and efforts of all these individuals, as well as the students, teachers, and parents, made this event a success.
Your rating: None